Must be the weather

I think I do typically spend quite a bit of time knitting, but lately it seems like there is never a spare moment when my hands aren’t busy knitting on something. I’m blaming the weather. It seems like winter has finally arrived in MN. I’m not a fan of winter. Snow is pretty, but it along with ice, tends to mess up my commute to and from work and I hate to be cold. So when the cold, snow and ice arrive I tend to snuggle under a blanket on the couch and knit and knit and knit…

I am working on learning to knit continental style. For any non-knitting people, that means not wrapping or throwing the yarn, but picking or scooping the yarn with the right hand needle. I can do it but right now feel like I am much slower at it then my regular method of knitting. I just need to make myself do an entire project from start to finish doing only continental knitting and I will probably be converted. Thanks to a patient cousin for showing me more than once now how she does this!

I have also been thinking a lot about my knitting needle organization. Right now I have needles in too many different spots and I can’t keep track of what sizes and styles of needles I do and don’t have and where I have them…I have a few ideas of how I’m going to remedy this situation. Let me know if you are knitter and have a fantastic method of organizing your needles.

My projects:

I finished the Skyp Socks that I was working on for my husband. I love how they turned out! They are bit roomy for him but not too bad. There are few mistake on the first sock that irk me but a knitting cousin told me that without mistakes they aren’t truly homemade. (I suppose they do have a bit more charm with some mistakes.) By the way, this is the fastest I have ever knit a pair of socks!

I also finished the Owl Puffs. They were quick to knit and a good use of stash yarn. I’m not sure what to do with them. Although, my kids did both claim one apiece as their own. They agreed that the third should go their baby cousin.

I started a few new things too. One will be a very long-term project designed to help me use up the excess sock yarn when I finish a pair of socks and there is ALWAYS left over. The pattern is called The Beekeeper’s Quilt. You knit up these little hexagons in the round and stuff them with fiberfill. Someday when I have like 400 of them I can stitch them together and make a really unique blanket with them. So far I have two…

I also started the Multnomah Shawl. I’m knitting it with Malabrigo Sock yarn!! I’ve never used Malabrigo before and it totally lives up to the hype.

I’m trying to resist casting on a new pair of socks…but a pair of socks is my go to project when I need to have a small project to take along with me without bringing my whole knitting bag. We’ll see…

Oh…and here is the Lintilla shawl I’ve been working on for my Mom which I’m kind of bored with. I thought I should at least share it with someone before I decide to frog it.

Thank you to everyone who read my first post and commented in some way it made me so happy! And thanks to anyone who is reading this entry too! It is very much appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Must be the weather

  1. Those owls are so cute! T is in love with owls right now , I might have to try making one for him! As far as knitting needle organization goes, I have a case of sock needles, my Denise needles, and I made a case for all my straight needles. I only have a few circular needles & they float around so I can never find them. Usually when I’m looking for needles I just have to look in all my projects because I have so many things sitting unfinished. That’s probably not helpful, but at least you’re not alone in needing some organization!

    • Thanks Naomi! The owls are so fast. I can do one in about an hour and a half and that includes stitching on the beak and attaching the eyes and stuffing. You should make 1 or 2 for T! I’m glad I’m not alone in the knitting needle mess. I’ve ended up with many, many needles in a few sizes because I can’t find them or think I have none.

      • Cathy says:

        I am no help either since my needles are scattered about but I do keep all of my dpn in a pencil box. Works great! And my straights (that I rarely use) in a tin that might be an umbrella holder? Something like that.

      • A pencil box is a good idea Cathy – I bet we even has some of those lying around. My biggest headache as far as my organization goes is my circular needles…ugh. I have a free standing jewlery box I’m thinking about emptying out a few of the drawers and seeing how that works for storage. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

