What’s In a Name?

I thought I would start this entry out by explaining why I chose to name my blog Night Owl Knitter. Those of you reading this who are family or close friends are probably thinking…”well, duh.” I have always been a night owl. I love to stay up late and get things accomplished, usually while watching sitcom reruns, crime television or the Food Network. I have never been, nor will I ever be a morning person. However, as I start work, Monday through Friday, 35 miles from home, at 7:45 am; I would probably really benefit from getting the night owl thing under control. If I’m being honest though, it is not something I ever really intend to change. Right now I work days and my husband works nights. My time at night after my kids are asleep in bed is the ONLY me time I get and I thrive on me time. I tried for a while to go to bed at a respectable time and forgo the time that is mine and the end result was a more crabby and much less satisfied version of me.

Usually during this night owl time knitting plays a role. Some nights it is my main objective and other nights it fills in the spaces between Words with friends online and reading…or whatever. This week my knitting has been somewhat interrupted by Stephanie Plum and her bounty hunter escapades. For those who might not know, Stephanie Plum is the heroine of a series of mystery books by Janet Evanovich. The first book, One for the Money, was published all the way back in 1994, so I’m a little late to this party, but enjoying myself completely anyway. I’m almost done with the second in the series and intend to cruise through all 18 books (and 4 special holiday books) until I’m caught up.

My Knitting:

I am pretty sure that I said in my last blog post that I would be done with my Multnomah Shawl by Monday, February 6th…well, I lied. I had every intention of whipping through the rest of it, but a stomach bug had other ideas for me on Sunday. I am on the eighth repeat of ten in the lace section. I have less than twelve rows left to finish knitting, unless I decide to do a few more of the lace repeats to use up more of the yarn and make the shawl longer. While twelve rows doesn’t sound like much, the rows have gotten awfully long.

The only other knitting I have worked on since my last post was the second attempt at knitting socks toe-up that I cast on last night. I was waiting for my smaller needles to arrive before I started. Just to give myself a fresh start I also switched yarn for something less slippery and I’m using a pattern from Wendy D. Johnson’s book Socks From the Toes Up! While I probably would have succeeded with the first pattern I tried just by changing the needles and the yarn I thought it might be beneficial to use a pattern that was written for someone who is new to toe up sock knitting. This pattern and the book it comes from are excellent. Lots of instructions and lots of options for the different components of sock knitting. (I think there are 5 different toe up cast ons!) The pattern I chose is Traditional Gansey Socks. I’m knitting them in some gorgeous yarn I bought on Etsy from Indieway Yarns.

Until next time happy knitting…or whatever it is that fills your you time.

P.S.  Sorry the picture quality is a little lacking this time, I took these pictures on my phone.

3 thoughts on “What’s In a Name?

  1. That sock yarn is really pretty! I think that your blog name is perfect for you! And hey, if staying up late works for you, why change it! Enjoy your you time!

    • It is pretty yarn but it is pooling as I knit the socks which I frustrating to no end. 😦 I hope I didn’t sound like I was justifying my staying up late. My intention was just to explain it 🙂 Thanks ❤

Leave a Reply

