Knitting in Public

What a fabulous weekend! I’m always sorry to see such a great weekend come to an end. The highlights were the school carnival, a stop at a favorite yarn shop, seeing my nephew (and sister and her husband)  unexpectedly at my Mom and Dad’s, watching LJ try to roller skate for the first time, tennis with my family, grilling hamburgers for the first time this spring and going out for dessert with one of my very best friends!

I’m a big advocate of knitting in public. Partly because I have a hard time sitting around and waiting for anything, so if I can fill that time with knitting I’m much happier. Mostly though because I think it is an excellent way to expose knitting to the public and get others interested in trying it. I have found that knitters mostly seem to be happy, helpful and generally nice people. In my opinion, the more people who knit, the nicer place the world could be.

That being said, I found myself in the most bizarre example of knitting in public I have ever experienced this weekend. LJ was invited to a classmate’s birthday party at Cheap Skate. He was excited to go and certainly I wanted to let him, but he’d never skated before and this worried me a bit. When I RSVP’d for the party I asked if I could tag along for a bit to help him get going. The mother was more than happy to accommodate. Once I helped LJ around the rink a few times I let him go on his own. I sat on a bench rink-side and kept on eye out for wipeouts while I knit. I’m fairly certain I’m the first person to ever knit inside that building…EVER. Usually when I knit in public I get people who ask about it or admire it…this time I just got a lot of strange looks. Oh well!

The yellow mystery project is no longer a mystery! No, I’m not finished, but it was revealed to the recipient last night. One of my best and oldest friends was in town this weekend and we went out for dessert last night. I brought the almost finished first sock and had her try it on to see if I was on the right track for sizing. I am knitting the Sunday Swing Socks by Kristel Nyberg. They are a very easy and fun pattern! Here is a picture of the first sock finished!! I will see Tammy again for Memorial Day Weekend and will have the finished pair for her then. Only about 4 months too late for her birthday.

Another gift I need to be finished with for Memorial Day weekend is a hooded baby sweater for Cal. I should have had a gift done for Cal by my scrap booking weekend, but I was lacking inspiration and couldn’t decide what to make. In the end I asked Cal’s Mom what she needed for him. She requested one of those hooded baby sweaters that zip up the back. Check out the awesome yarn I picked up for it this weekend!

And this yarn…which I have no plan for, but it was so pretty I couldn’t just leave it at the store.

I have a few other project ideas bumping around in my brain, but I need to stay focused on just a few at a time.

I’m up to book seven of the Stephanie Plum series! I keep thinking I’m going to take a little break after the one I’m currently reading and then there is a cliffhanger and I have no resistance and just need to know what happens next. At work last week I listened to an audio book called False Mermaid. It is by a St. Paul, MN author called Erin Hart. It’s a mystery based in St. Paul. I enjoyed the story and it was especially nice to recognize places in the book!

Hope your weekend was as wonderful as mine!

2 thoughts on “Knitting in Public

Leave a Reply

