New Stuff

Sometimes too much freedom is not a good thing. After finishing all my projects with deadlines I went a little crazy starting up new projects. I don’t think it is bad to have lots of projects going, but I clearly have project ADD, or something. If I spent as much time finishing projects as I did casting new ones on I would have more completed projects to show. Oh well….it has been a very exciting few weeks of knitting with all the new projects.

We went out-of-town last weekend. One of my favorite things about going out-of-town is all the knitting time in the car and preparing for it. I wound many skeins of yarn last Friday night. In my opinion there is nothing better than winding yarn! Naturally I wound more yarn than I needed for last weekend…but I went to bed stress free!

I did start-up some socks with a skein of my Sunshine Sock Yarn. I think I knit this sock faster than any other sock I’ve ever knit (just 8 days.) I picked the color way Tonks from my stash. I kind of liked how it looked better in the skein than knit up…but it is a lot of fun! I can imagine that these will be my favorite socks to pull on in the winter when I get home from work and put on my sweats. I used the pattern Hermione’s Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder. The only change I made to the pattern was that I used black for the cuff, heel and toe just to break up this bright yarn a bit. I’m looking forward to knitting the second one.

I could just gloss over this project, but I’ll be honest. I cast on a cowl with my pretty Malabrigo on our ride up north last Saturday and have since frogged it (for those non-knitters frogged means I took it apart and rewound the ball of yarn.)  I was working on the Sofia Cowl by Jessie Dotson. It is a lovely pattern and I fully intend to try it again…maybe with different yarn. I had trouble remembering to always pass the slipped stitch over the stitches knitted together on the lace rows and it caused problems. I discovered a few rows in that things were off track. I kept going for a bit but really if I’m unhappy with my knitting, ignoring the problem isn’t going to help it. Sigh.

Despite all I have going on I joined a knitting group on Ravelry called American Girl Knitters and then joined their June KAL (Knit a Long). So today finished the first half of the assignment for the June KAL. It is a hat called Belle by Deb Denair, It turned out totally cute and I’m excited to cast on for Kimana by Deb Denair. The fun thing about knitting doll clothes is that they are so quick and they make Minnie happy!

Now, I need to reign myself back in again and finish up at least some of what I have on the needles right now.

This night owl needs to get to bed! So, until next time…happy knitting!

One thought on “New Stuff

Leave a Reply

