Stupid Evil Yarn

I have discovered that I should not buy yarn like this:

As lovely as it is and as drool worthy as I find the colors…I clearly have no idea what to do with it that will live up to the color enough to please me. I am on my third project attempt with this yarn and I hate it. First there was the Sofia Cowl (which I’m tempted to try again with this yarn), then I tried those fair isle heart mittens, now I’m working on the Casu Cowl. I’m not sure what my problem is. I wish I wasn’t so determined to use the yarn RIGHT NOW! I have several other projects to finish and yarn to start many, many more. So, why the fixation with this particular skein?? I need to wind it back up and hide it away in one of my most inconvenient yarn hiding places until I can commit to a project.

 

I need to get going on the second mitten for my cousin. He tried on the first and besides lengthening the thumb a smidge and lengthening the cuff a bit they were good. He leaves for college after Labor Day weekend…so I need to get a move on.

The only really constructive thing I’ve knit on this week is a toy for Baby C. His first birthday party is this weekend. I’m not sure why these caught my attention, but it was a quick knit. I plan to make two or three of these guys. They are another Rebecca Danger pattern called Monster Chunks. I was able to knit and assemble the whole first one in under two hours. I think I like them because they seem like the perfect size for little hands to grab and throw or chew on!

My knitting has taken a bit of a hit the last couple weeks. This is probably not something I should admit but, at work, when I’m waiting for more work to populate my queue I used to knit. (Notice the past tense there.) During our slower parts of the year in my department I can have large chunks of time between cases that I liked to fill with knitting. My job is not one that has any other projects that can be pulled out to fill in the slow times so I didn’t feel bad using this as extra knitting time. The way I figure it, if I’m not being kept busy right now I’m going to keep myself busy, or risk falling asleep while I wait for work. However, we just moved into a huge, beautiful, state of the art building. I LOVE the building but, the cubes are a lot less private. I have not yet worked up the courage to take out my knitting during the slow times for fear of what my cube neighbors will think. Needless to say, I’m getting a significant amount less knitting done and I feel like it is throwing everything off. Do you knit at work?

I can’t believe that summer is almost over! It feels like just a few weeks ago that I was getting used to my kids being out of school and having to find ways to keep their evenings entertaining. We’ve done all our back to school shopping. My kids should be getting postcards with their new teacher assignment this week, as well as bus route postcards. Next week is open house at the school where we meet new teachers, drop off school supplies, put money into lunch accounts and sign up for conferences. I can’t believe I have a third grader and a first grader this year!

I do not claim to know much about gardening/growing things, but it seems our pumpkins have moved into a new phase. It appears that all the leafy, flowering vegetation that the pumpkins started from is naturally dying off and leaving behind just the thick vines and growing pumpkins. At first I wondering if they were getting enough water, but the plants that are left do seem to be thriving. I guess it makes sense that the parts that are unnecessary at this point would die off.

 

 

I have been catching up on the last few episode I’m behind on of Downton Abbey the last few nights. If you aren’t watching this show maybe you should be! It is an outstanding historical period drama. I’m enjoying it very much!

Enjoy the last slice of summer and happy back to school!

2 thoughts on “Stupid Evil Yarn

  1. Kirstin says:

    Cute monster! C will love it!

    Nice looking pumpkins! I will be curious to see how big they turn out and when they turn orange!

Leave a Reply

