How Time Flies!

My posts keep getting further apart and fewer in number. I just haven’t been feeling like I have anything interesting to say. That, and life has just been too busy. When my kids were little and I was kept busy in the evenings just caring for them, I imagined all the free time I would have one day when they were older and more self-sufficient. Well, I forgot to factor in how much time I would spend on school stuff with them. Between work and keeping my kids on track with the business of going to school, I have almost no time for me. And when I do get time for me I am often too drained to do much besides consider sleeping. Not that I would trade any of it for anything in the world! I am just trying to make the most if it now while I can. I’m sure before I know it we will be empty nesters and I will have nothing but time to knit and read (and I’ll wish I still had kiddos to take care of.)

Since I last posted the kids have gone back to school, LJ turned 10, Halloween came and went and just yesterday we had our first measurable snow fall in the Twin Cities. I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is in a few short weeks! And I’m trying not to even think about Christmas – too close for comfort.

Despite how busy I feel, I have been knitting a few things. I am still working on the Afterthought Heel Socks. Remember how I thought those were going to be the way to go with socks because they were going to be so quick and easy?? They would be quick and easy if I wasn’t so bored while knitting them. I am hoping to finish the boring pair I’m working on for me before finding a totally busy, intricate sock pattern that will excite me and keep me interested in the knitting.

Blah!!

Blah!!

I am also still working on the Saroyan shawl. It is lovely! I am well into the second skein of yarn. I should be able to start the decreases soon.  I am anxious to try it on and see if I’m keeping it for me or gifting it. It might be a good Christmas gift for my Mom. (Good thing she doesn’t read this.) I would happily knit this again…probably in a more solid color next time.

IMG_0803

I made my kids their new winter hats. Only Minnie got a new winter coat from Grandma this year. LJ’s coat from last year was a little big last year, so it was still going to work for him this year. I did make him a new hat though…now he has choices. For Allison I knit the Amanda Hat by Gina House. It was a really fun pattern to knit. It was a slip stitch pattern which creates the X’s in the fabric. For Logan I did the Mock Rib Watch Cap by Tanis Gray. I fell in love with the feel of Eco Cloud yarn at my LYS and they had a sample of this pattern knit up with this yarn. I just made it a bit less slouchy for him.

I frogged my Ice Queen. It was turning out fine, but it was slow knitting and I realized that I didn’t think I could see myself ever wearing it. I’m not glamorous enough for it and it wouldn’t mesh that well with either of my winter coats. I was sure that I would wear just a scarf out of this yarn though. So, I am slowly knitting a scarf with the yarn. I am adding a few beads though. While I’m not glamorous , I still appreciate a bit of sparkle.

IMG_1498

The only other new thing that I’ve started is the Brickless by Martina Behm. It is another shawl/scarf sort of piece. I think it is for me, but my projects have a way of belonging to others by the time I’m done with them. It just depends on if I think I can wear it or not. I had no intention of knitting this. One of my favorite podcasts was doing a knit a long with Martina Behm patterns, which I wasn’t participating in. Then, people started posting their shawls on Facebook and Instagram and I fell in love with it. I managed to resist for a few weeks and told myself that it could just go on my list of projects to do someday. Well, you can see how well that worked out.

Happy Autumn/Winter!!

IMG_1493

One thought on “How Time Flies!

  1. Kirstin says:

    You always have lot of projects going! Will look forward to seeing more of the brickless. I also really like the scarf with the beads added!

Leave a Reply

