Burr!!

Happy New Year! Here in Minnesota we have started off the new year in a deep, deep freeze. My kids were supposed to return to school today from Christmas break, but they are at home enjoying an extended break since school was cancelled due to the extreme cold. And I just heard that tomorrow is cancelled as well. (Too bad I still have to go to work.) Our high temperature today is supposed to be -15. The low is -20 and that doesn’t even include the wind chill. With the wind it feels like -40s out there. Yuck! When we get back up around 35 degrees this coming weekend it is going to feel darn right tropical!

So far this year’s knitting has been all about socks. I finished the After Thought Heel Socks for Minnie I had going on simultaneously as the ones I was working on for myself. Technically I finished those last year as I finished them on New Year’s Eve. As much as I came to dread this pattern as it is so dull to work on, this is the kind of yarn that this pattern should be used for. Yarn that is vibrant and exciting all by itself that doesn’t need a busy pattern getting in the way. I love how these turned out and I love that she has worn these many days already in our frigid weather. I will keep this pattern in mind for next time I have busy yarn to use, otherwise I will stick to fun sock patterns.

Since Minnie has a finished pair of socks I decided to start a pair for LJ. I recently downloaded a pattern booklet from Ravelry called Tiny Treads. It is all sock patterns for kids! I picked one called Goosey Goosey. (I have no idea why that is their name.) I am knitting them two at a time on circular needles. I tried this before and it worked on the boring leg area of the socks, but it was a Cookie A pattern (Kai-Mei) and the feet had something rather dramatic going on and I was never going to be able to keep the left sock straight from the right and have the patterns mirror each other, so I gave up on knitting two at a time after that. I have not done it again since and have come to realize that I should. I get second sock syndrome so badly!!

I have also worked on my Brickless a bit, but made very little progress as I had to tink back to fix where I forgot to cast off 11 stitches…whoops.

I forgot to mention in my last post that one of my sister-in-laws has taken up knitting! I am so thrilled. I always love when people discover knitting. She asked if I would teach her how to knit when we were together at Thanksgiving. She came armed with yarn and a pattern. I brought needles and spare yarn to teach her the basics before she started on her first project. She had looked at some instructions on-line previous to our lesson, so she picked it up extra quickly! I am anxious to see how her first project turns out!

My family started off this year with a special treat. For Christmas my husband bought tickets for the four of us to see The Phantom of the Opera at the Orphium in Minneapolis. We Love FOTO! He and I saw it in Orlando almost four years ago. The kids have never seen the stage or movie version, but have loved the music for years. My husband has been very anxious to take them to see it. They did very well and both enjoyed it! It was a wonderful show! I was so glad we braved the bitter cold to see it.

Stay Warm!

IMG_1722

Leave a Reply

