She’s Here!!

My newest niece arrived quite dramatically, early on Friday morning! She is beautiful! I got to go meet her on Friday and bring the last few gifts I’ve been working on for her (currently, anyway.) So, now I can share all that I’ve been working on for so many months!

Back in January I started in a blanket for Baby Girl. The pattern is the Zig Zag Baby Blanket by knitculture.com. I really like the pattern but I have one complaint. Why would anyone design a baby blanket that is so weirdly skinny? I cast on the larger number of stitches listed in the pattern. I knit a good six inches before realizing that the blanket was more like a wide scarf than a blanket. I soldiered on for several more inches hoping it would seem more acceptable as I got more of it knit. It did not. Not wanting to start completely from square one (hindsight being what it is…I wish I would have started over at this point) I decided that I’d finish this ‘panel’ (as I decided to refer to the blanket) and then knit another panel and join them to make a larger blanket. I finish the first panel and decided that I’d make one little color change for the second panel just to mix things up a bit. I also decided to change the order the colors fell in to mix it up some more. (I wish I hadn’t done this.) In my head these changes were cute and lovely. In reality it makes the blanket a little too busy for my exact taste. It’s not hideous, but just not what I had pictured in my head when I started out knitting this. When all the knitting was done and all the millions of ends were woven in I had to figure out how best to join them. I thought I’d try do a crocheted join like I did on all those slippers I knit at Christmas time. I didn’t like how that looked. It might have been better if I’d managed to crochet a bit looser. I took that apart and just did a kind of rustic sewing job. I mostly like how it looks and it does seem to tie the two pieces together well. It seems like I always end up with some kind of snafu with my projects. I’m not sure if it is just me or if everyone else just doesn’t talk about the adventures their knitting takes them on. Since a big part of why I write this blog is to remind myself of how different projects went and to LEARN from my mistakes I am just being honest about what a mess I mange to make of even the simplest projects. Hopefully Baby Girl will get use out of this blanket, even if  it didn’t fulfill all of Auntie’s knitting dreams.

DSCF2276

Speaking of knitting dreams…the dress I knit Baby Girl might be my favorite thing I have ever knit! Really! The pattern is amazing and SO well written. The knitting was exciting and challenging, yet manageable. (Don’t worry there were still plenty of hurdles to be faced.) I love how the finished product turned out! I knit the Lizzy Dress by Taiga Hilliard Designs. I used a ball of fingering weight Stroll by Knit Picks in the Blue Violet color way. (I actually emailed my sister a picture of about 6 balls of yarn I was considering and told her to pick. She narrowed it down to two.) Since I mentioned above I try to be honest while writing this and confess all my knitting messes I’m trying to think of what went wrong with this. The only two things I’m coming up with are really minor and not really messes. When I finished the bodice of the dress and looked at the neck hole I couldn’t image that I had knit this at all in gauge. It looked entirely too small to fit around even a newborn’s neck. When the dress was blocked and I saw my niece in person I can see that I was wrong. The sizing is just fine – hooray! As this is a lace pattern there were many rows I had to count back and figure out where I went wrong when I ended the row with too many or too few stitches left. I don’t see this as big mess either…I think that is just how knitting lace goes. It can be so easy to lose track of yarn overs and whatnot. If you are in the market for a baby dress knitting pattern I would HIGHLY recommend this one! I am kind of considering knitting the whole thing for Baby Girl again in a bigger size and a different color. Really! I finished this dress within a few hours of Baby Girl’s birth! I actually thought I’d have at least a couple more days to finish up. It was great timing though. I finished knitting, washed, blocked and went to bed. I heard early the next morning that she’d arrived and went to the store to buy buttons before going to the hospital to meet her! (How’s that for timing!)

DSCF2279

I also knit her a little headband to go with this dress. I crocheted the flower, but I bought the cute stretchy headband at JoAnn’s. I attached the flower and the accent button and called it good. (I also did this in the morning before I went to meet her .)

DSCF2282

In the midst of finishing up baby gifts in the last month or so I did start one new thing. We were going to WI for a birthday party that my sister would be at and I didn’t want to bring either of the gifts above that she didn’t yet know about. I cast on a shawl….possibly for myself. I am famous for two things when it comes to shawls. 1.) Not ever finishing them. (I have at least 3 shawls at home I can think of that are in various states of completion.) 2.) Finishing a shawl that I thought was for myself only to give it away to someone else.  I do hope to finish this one and I hope that it really is for me this time. It is the Dinner in the Eiffel Tower Shawl by Jessie Dodington. It was designed to look like different elements of the Eiffel Tower’s structure. It is really pretty. It has been challenging knitting for me. I am enjoying it and hope that my finished project does the pattern justice.

IMG_0524

This is the best picture I have so far. I need to get it on a larger circular needle so I can stretch it out. Sorry!

I have SO many more things I want to knit Baby Girl. I am happy I hit all my big deadlines before she arrived. But, I plan to keep casting on things for  her 🙂 (Here is a sneak peek at one.) It will be finished shortly and I will share details when it is.

IMG_0654

Here are a couple photos of my new niece in a few of the hats I made her. Isn’t she she cutest?

 

 

 

One thought on “She’s Here!!

  1. Kirstin says:

    Fun to read about the things you’ve made little miss A! Love them all!
    Love how you photographed the items too!
    Excited to check out the not finished item! Didn’t realize you had more!

Leave a Reply

